Becoming a Mediator
Currently there are no state requirements for the practice of mediation, nor is there any state “certification” process or requirement. In other words, there is no Colorado “Certified” mediator.
There are guidelines endorsed by The Mediation Association of Colorado (theMAC) and the Colorado Bar Association (CBA) on mediator training and education, but those guidelines only apply to their members. Additionally, there are voluntary Colorado Standards of Conduct for Mediators endorsed by the theMAC, Office of Dispute Resolution, Colorado Judicial Institute, Colorado Bar Association, ADR Forum Committee, and the Attorney General’s Office, Department of Law.
These guidelines involve a process of obtaining training, mediation experience and participating in continuing education in alternative dispute resolution.
Approved Standard and Professional mediators must have completed a 40-hour basic mediation training class which meets theMAC’s standards for a 40-hour course. The course must include a minimum of 6 hours of participation in mediation role play and must include training on the following topics as related to the practice of mediation.
- Prevalent Conflict Theory and Dispute Resolution Processes
- Ethics and Values
- Professional Skills
- Relationship Building and Rapport
- Information Gathering
- Interaction and Conflict Management
- Problem Solving
The following are Professional Members of the Mediation Association of Colorado (theMAC) who provide mediation training courses. To find out about scheduled courses, to register, and for additional information, contact the training organizations directly using the information below.
Training is offered through the Colorado Bar Association
(303) 860-0608 (CBA-CLE Customer Service)